Don’t Shortchange Yourself

by

The poor economy has caused much belt-tightening over the past couple of years, with everyone wanting to get the most bang for their buck. To me that is recognizing value, not necessarily finding the cheapest price. It can be easy to fall into the trap of being a penny-wise but a pound-foolish. Sure it is great to come in under-budget, but don’t under-cut your project in the process.

Know your limits and rely on other people who can bring something to the table. Find vendors who will make suggestions to improve your original idea or who have a special talent to enhance the final project, making it great as opposed to good. Sometimes getting it great does cost more financially, not much more, but more.  But what are the long-term rewards of standing out with great work and valuing exceptional quality? And what are the pitfalls of just being good. Is good, good enough for others?

I acknowledged my limitations when my husband and I had an addition built on our home. It was not a large or complicated, and, as a designer, I knew exactly how I wanted it to look and flow. I could have sketched it out and worked with the builder but we hired the architect who drew our original house plans. If we were going to spend a lot of money to build it, why would we scrimp on one of the most important points in the process? We wanted someone who did this work day-in and day-out and knew things about home design that we would never know. Sure it cost more, but the outcome was much better than anything I could have done. Not only did the architect make great suggestions for adjustments, but he also informed us of new building materials that provided greater efficiency. Most importantly I was assured of not making a costly mistake or having multiple change orders during construction (cha ching, cha ching). The additional cost of the architect probably saved me money in the long run and significantly improved the outcome.

So when doing anything in life and work consider value. Is saving the extra dollar really doing just that? Don’t shortchange yourself. It may end up costing you much more than that dollar in the long run.

9 Responses to “Don’t Shortchange Yourself”

  1. Brooks Says:

    What’s up to every single one, it’s actually a pleasant for me to pay a visit this web site, it contains important Information.

  2. camera bag Says:

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more
    of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

  3. www.ltdlawfirm.Com Says:

    I absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    Would you offer guest writers to write content in your case?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you
    write concerning here. Again, awesome site!

  4. flowtv.org Says:

    This feature definitely comes in handy especially if you are trying
    to trim down your weight. More information on: hypnosis self hypnosis
    hypnotherapy hypnosis myths meditation NLP.

    I made an effort to crank out 100 kettle bell swings split up, but generally settled with 80.

  5. how to submit coupons Says:

    Hi there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick
    shout out and say I truly enjoy reading through your blog posts.

    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics?
    Appreciate it!

  6. 4therapy.com Says:

    Heya i’m for the primary time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it
    helped me out much. I am hoping to offer something again and aid others such as you
    aided me.

  7. Carmelo Says:

    What’s up to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this site, and your views are pleasant for
    new visitors.

  8. Humberto Says:

    I leave a response whenever I appreciate a article on a website or
    I have something to valuable to contribute to
    the conversation. Usually it’s triggered by the sincerness
    communicated in the article I looked at. And after
    this article Dont Shortchange Yourself | The Adams Group Blog.
    I was excited enough to drop a leave a responsea response 😉 I
    actually do have a few questions for you if it’s okay.
    Could it be just me or do some of the comments come across like they
    are left by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional sites, I’d like to
    keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Could you list all
    of your shared pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  9. Jeff Says:

    Liz wrote: ” Is saving the extra dollar really doing just that? Don’t shortchange yourself. It may end up costing you much more than that dollar in the long run. ”

    This is so very true. Over the past two or so years, economic pressure has forced buyers of photography to ” go cheap ” because of pressures from clients, often settling for ” good enough.” I’m glad to see someone standing up for quality over price.

Leave a Reply

