I’m a PC. I’m a Mac. What am I?

by

Remember the “I’m a PC. I’m a Mac” TV commercials? Me too. If you were a PC user, you snarled. If you used a Mac, you laughed. T-Mobile is trying desperately to use the same formula to attack AT&T and also dig Apple. They have been running their Mac/PC knock-off campaign for a couple of months and I think they’re missing a key element. Nobody cares.

T-Mobile wants to compare its service with that of AT&T. By using Apple’s “I’m a Mac” campaign, they also hope to take a passing shot at the iPhone maker. Good idea, nice strategy, here’s the problem — NOBODY CARES. The Apple campaign worked because PC users love their PCs (and hate Macs) and Mac users love their Macs (and hate PCs). And by the way, everyone dislikes AT&T, especially iPhone users. Is T-Mobile trying to convince iPhone users to buy an Android phone and switch to T-Mobile? Not going to happen. Once again they are loyal to Apple.

The Apple campaign was smart and well written with great casting. The T-Mobile campaign is ham-handed, forced and comes off as a cheap knock off. Click on the links above and compare for yourself.

P.S. A big high-five to Verizon for getting the iPhone. I hope to be a customer very soon!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “I’m a PC. I’m a Mac. What am I?”

  1. Tweets that mention I’m a PC. I’m a Mac. What am I? « The Adams Group Blog -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Dean Bryant, Liz Nettles. Liz Nettles said: @deanbry68 questions branding identity. http://bit.ly/fj4HUN #branding #apple […]

Leave a Reply

