Marketing in the Shadows.

by

Except for the appointment reminders I receive from my primary care physician’s office, I don’t receive a lot of healthcare direct marketing. And I’m fine with that. Beyond the usual objection to receiving too much information, I know that anything sent to me would be a waste of marketing dollars. I’ve known for a long time that women make the healthcare decisions for themselves and their family. My household is no different.

So my interest was piqued when I saw a letter from Similac—the infant formula maker—that was addressed to me. The enclosed letter invited me, the “mom-to-be” to join a program called StrongMoms where I could interact with other pregnant women. My wife and I got a chuckle from it. The next day I received a box with a glossy, 52-page brochure, $20 worth of Similac coupons and two canisters of Similac infant formula. Talk about an expensive mail piece. All the pieces were very well produced and all of the communications were smart and on target. As a healthcare marketing professional, I was very impressed with the strategy and the tactical delivery vehicle of the campaign.

All of these good ideas were wiped out when the tactical execution took a wrong turn to my mailbox. Clearly, this mailing should go to a female who is pregnant. Somehow it wound up going to the wrong spouse of the household about 12 months too late. My wife and I did have a baby girl almost 10 months ago. It made me think of one of my favorite T.S. Eliot quotes:

“Between the idea and the reality
Between the motion
And the act
Falls the Shadow.”

In this instance, Similac was marketing in the shadows.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Marketing in the Shadows.”

  1. Seth Says:

    You are so awesome! I don’t believe I’ve read
    through something like that before. So wonderful to find somebody with
    some unique thoughts on this topic. Really.. thanks for starting this up.
    This web site is something that is required on the web, someone
    with a bit of originality!

  2. Aion Online Buyer Says:

    I tend to concur with most of what you said in your submit but I
    did submit something linked on my blog a while back.
    Here’s just some of what I said in that post?-
    Always practice excellent stewardship of our waterways if you are fishing. Remember that these waterways were around thousands of years before you and will remain prolonged after we are gone. You can make a conscious decision to depart the areas in which people fish in far better condition than if you found it. Take care of our lakes, rivers, and other waterways so that others will enjoy these areas for years to come. Practicing certain behaviors will ensure that you might be taking superior care of the places where people fish.
    Give it a read and if you have any opinions on it of your own personal,
    feel free to give me a shout?-
    http://6210.com.cn /
    Thanks!

  3. Jeff Davis Says:

    Thanks for the input, David. They really should scrub their direct mail lists for a campaign this important.

  4. David Hall Says:

    Good example of poor follow through. If you get one aspect of your campaign wrong, your credibility takes the hit..possibly reducing your customer base. I am surprised at what a great mail piece that was though! sheesh, all that work and it was 12 months late!

Leave a Reply

