You can’t have windows without walls.

by

Windows screen shot

As I sat watching Adult Swim on Cartoon Network the other night I noticed an ad in between episodes of King of the Hill and Family Guy. Due to the nature of the shows I was watching I thought at first it was a spoof ad …you know, because it’s Adult Swim.  Then it dawned on me that this probably was a legit ad. The ad was for Microsoft Windows. The tagline read, Windows. Life without Walls.

It immediately caught my attention, and not in a good way. I started thinking,    “Wow. That’s kind of dumb.” Actually, my first thought was, “Did they really just say that?” Think about it for a second. Windows. Life without walls.

Hmm. Without walls you can’t have and don’t need windows! Are they advocating a world in which their product is no longer needed? Did they think about what they were actually saying?

Still not quite believing my own eyes and ears, I went online to check out their campaign. I poked around on their website and, yes, there it was. This really is their campaign.  To me, it’s painfully obvious what they are attempting. This is not just some semantic misunderstanding. No, it is all there, the desperate attempt to be hip, to be cool. A vain effort to be something they are not, to fail to understand what their product is and to fall victim to derivativeness. You can plainly see they are mimicking their competition, but failing in their efforts.

I can just see some corporate types sitting around, patting themselves on the back for coming up with this Zen-like phrase that is utter nonsense. Don’t get me wrong here, I am not a Microsoft hater. I just can’t believe this tagline sailed through their organization unopposed. Surely someone there read this and thought – what??

You know it’s funny, but the universe works in some truly bizarre ways. It’s not the least bit ironic that I saw the ad on Adult Swim.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

