Update on Dr. Chaney and Patient Social Media Use

by

I checked in on CaringBridge this morning to see how Dr. Chaney was doing and was happy to see this:

Just wanted to send greetings from all of us and let you know that I am doing well.  The worst side effects from last weeks chemo have finally passed, and I am feeling better.  We are staying strong, and I find myself needing reminders to conserve my strength at times.  There have been so many phone calls, emails, and messages for which we are so thankful.  Please know that although we savor each one, it is impossible for me to respond to each, but that does not diminsh the value of each and every one to us.

Love,
Art

Just can’t send enough good thoughts his way. A judging by the stats, I am not alone in this. Dr. Chaney’s CaringBridge site has had more than 4,500 “visits.” Each of which I know is deeply appreciated.

It’s wonderful that patients are able to communicate through this site. And other sites like CaringBridge.

Earlier this year when our own Jeff Davis and his wife Kelly welcomed their bundle of joy to the world, Facebook status updates and profiles were aflutter throughout the day with updates, pictures and stats (including The Adams Group‘s) while we waited for the news.

Yesterday I saw a tweet about new fathers tweeting progress from the labor & delivery room and thought it was great. As a two-time labor and deliverer, I would have preferred updating family and friends on our first few hours by means other than them seeing me stuck in bed, feeling incredibly nauseous and blown up like an overripe watermelon. Not to mention fielding well meaning phone calls while struggling to nurse a newborn and trying to sleep whenever it’s possible.

I am sure the thought of tweets and status updates on something so personal annoys some people but these sites enable families to stay in touch in real time yet give patients the ability to communicate on their own terms.

There are the folks who will crow about it being trendy and impersonal. Just like e-mail once was vs. writing a letter. And calling on the telephone instead of visiting in person.

But things change. And you can either open yourself up to it or not. That’s the beauty of it. The choice is yours.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Update on Dr. Chaney and Patient Social Media Use”

  1. Dominique Says:

    I’ve been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or weblog posts in this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website. Studying this info So i am happy to show that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I
    came upon exactly what I needed. I most for sure will make
    certain to don?t fail to remember this site and give it a glance regularly.

Leave a Reply

