Dean Smash II: Rise of the Geeks

by

Versus_03

A former colleague once told me, “we stand on the shoulders of  greatness.” Sounds epic, I know. He was referring to the art of reusing an idea for a different audience or remaking an existing product with the hope of making it better or just different. I’ve seen this work out great for something like the George Foreman Grill. Others, like New Coke, have failed miserably.

As a big ol’ comic book geek, I think some of the Spiderman and X-Men movies were done well. Then there are those that just didn’t do it for me. I don’t want to name names, but I will: both Hulk movies, the second Fantastic Four movie, Clooney as Batman and anything Punisher related.

What products, movies, music or ideas do you think were remade better or worse than the original?

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Dean Smash II: Rise of the Geeks”

  1. Brandon Butcher Says:

    What was wrong with the second Hulk? Maybe, I’m just being brainwashed into thinking it was good because the first one was so bad.

    Generally, I think remakes of movies and music aren’t as good as the originals, however, it does help you to both remember and appreciate the classics.

  2. Jeff Says:

    So you didn’t like the first Punisher movie? I thought Dolph Lundgren set the acting bar pretty darn high in that one.

  3. Julie Turner Says:

    How timely. I loved the wedding intro to Chris Brown’s Forever that went viral in the last few weeks.

    Amy sent me this link where someone took the idea, gave it what should have been a funny tweak and redid it.

    See more funny videos and funny pictures at CollegeHumor.

    It’s a big disappointment. I wanted it to be much funnier than it actually is. Sad.

Leave a Reply

