Ned Ryerson? Bing!

by

Sorry, I have to quote the greatest movie of all time, Groundhog Day, whenever I can.

But, the important part of my title is “Bing”, as in Microsoft’s new search engine bing.com. MS is making a new attempt to pick a fight with the almighty goliath that is Google. Their strategy? They’re not just a search engine, they’re a “decision engine.” Bing.com will offer new “services” to help you get to the end result of your search quicker. By end result, I mean not just read about that camera you’re thinking of getting, but actually get you on your way to purchasing it with shopping options. Sometimes even with a cash back incentive.

To be honest, currently (it’s still beta) it doesn’t look like Bing does anything extraordinary that Google doesn’t, it’s just organized differently.

Will it make a difference? Can they steal market share from Google. 

In my opinion, no. First of all, not many people are looking for an alternative to Google. It works, it’s fast, and it stays out of your way. Like many  MS products, in their attempt to make things more accessible it becomes more bloated with things that just get in the way. Case in point, when I went to bing.com it immediately started badgering me to update my Silverlight software. Why? I just want to search some reviews on the video camera I’m considering.

We’ll see. It’s early and I’m sure Bing.com will evolve. But, I don’t think Google is very concerned.

Bing.com

Tags: , , , ,

11 Responses to “Ned Ryerson? Bing!”

  1. Margie Says:

    I think the admin of this website is truly working hard for his web site, for the reason that here every information is quality based information.

  2. water hard water Says:

    Hi, i read your blog from time to time and i
    own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot
    of spam comments? If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you
    can recommend? I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any help is very much appreciated.

  3. http://cosmeticdentist5.jimdo.com Says:

    There’s definately a great deal to learn about this topic. I
    love all the points you’ve made.

  4. mortgage debt relief Says:

    Hey there! I simply wish to give you a huge thumbs up for your excellent
    information you have right here on this post. I am coming back to your
    blog for more soon.

  5. Bing. « The Adams Group Blog Says:

    […] By Julie Turner Tim had a great post about the launch of Bing awhile back. Being the crabby oldish lady set in my ways that I am, I had […]

  6. Brandon Says:

    I’m still upset with Microsoft about the whole Netscape ordeal…If it wasn’t for the network effect, I would quit Microsoft altogether!

  7. Jeff Says:

    Bing got the early spike we all thought they would. They currently have less than 5% of the paid search marketplace. Honeymoon is over, let’s see how well they can keep that “lion’s share” from eroding.

  8. Can social media bridge the gap between patient and doctor? « The Adams Group Blog Says:

    […] it be possible that one day when we Google a health concern the result will be advice and information from your doctor’s blog rather […]

  9. Neal Crotts Says:

    Nicely done, Tim. I agree completely. To make another Groundhog Day reference: haven’t they tried this before? And besides, as strang as this sounds, “bing” doesn’t hold up as well as “google” when it is verbed: “After the interview, I binged the applicant to check on her virtual life.”

    On the other hand, it does have that very large image.

    • Tim McCausland Says:

      Thanks, Neal. It’s funny you say that about ‘verbing’ google. I was just saying to Jeff how google is so ubiquitous that it’s becoming commonplace to say you are “going to google it”, probably without thought on what search engine you will use.

      And after a quick google, I’m not the only one to notice this: http://tinyurl.com/on9wd7

  10. Julie Says:

    Good call on the Google stays out of your way. I note the “Popular now” at the bottom of Bing. I get enough of that garbage on other sites. I want want my search engine to search and that’s it. I’m the deciderer. Plus, there’s the whole Chandler Bing baggage.

Leave a Reply

